Testimonials

"We recently worked with Joan to both buy a new house and sell our old house. She was quite simply, wonderful. We had been casually looking to buy for a while, but knew that it had to be THE right house. We had a lovely small house in a neighborhood we adored, so there was no real need or critical timeline for a move. We found a house we loved, and that checked all the boxes of things we wanted, except for the price. The seller did not seem willing to negotiate and we thought the opportunity was done. But Joan stayed on it, and ultimately got us to an agreement on our new fixer-upper dream house. Of course, once that deal was signed it meant we needed to sell our house as quickly as possible and Joan proved herself once again. She was fabulous, efficient, helpful and fun throughout the entire process. She knew what needed to be done to show our house in the best possible way, she priced it correctly and we had multiple offers over asking the first weekend. She never overlooked any of the details, and she made sure we always knew where things stood from listing to closing. We would highly recommend Joan to anyone buying or selling in the Newton area. She knows this town and the real estate market and had our trust throughout the entire process."

--Eva B., December 2018

“Working with Joan has been- well frankly - pretty amazing. Our situation would’ve been a challenge for the most seasoned Realtors, but Joan took it on without flinching. We needed to sell our house very quickly and Joan was perfect. She told us what to do to show our house at its best. Her marketing materials were great even though everything needed to be done in a week. We NEVER questioned our choice of Realtors throughout the process. And her pricing strategy was right on target. Asking price on the lower end to set things up for a bidding war. And it worked. We sold in a weekend and got a great price. We do not have a single complaint. We needed to leave town prior to the sale and there were a number of glitches in our house that Joan took care of without hesitation. We would recommend her unequivocally.”

-- Barbara G., October 2018

“Joan was an incredibly helpful guiding light through the process of listing and selling my home. In fact, Joan helped me to sell the same house that she helped me to buy 21 years before. My experience buying the home with her was so pleasant and she left such a great impression that she was the only agent I called when it came time to sell. Her assistance with listing/pricing, staging the home for showing, and working through bids we received was extremely helpful. Joan also provided her expert guidance through the legal process and assisted with every detail until the closing. Joan is very knowledgeable about the area and is a class act. I can completely recommend her to anyone looking to buy or sell a home.”

-- Brian P., August 2018

"We just completed a purchase of a single-family home with Joan as our agent. Joan was incredible. She listened to what we hoped to have in a home, and was honest about what the market, location, and price point would be like based on our list. She mentioned other parts of the greater Boston area that would allow for more inventory of what we wanted and drove us around those parts to give us an idea of life there. We were still set on Brookline, even though it would be tougher to find a home. She set out to find us one. 

“From the first day of meeting her, she made it seem as if we were her only clients and her top priority. Her genuine interest in her clients and her warm demeanor made it easy to interact with her. She sent pre-market listings, got us into homes before they hit the market, had an inspector available to come with us to open houses and pre-listing walk- throughs, and sent us updates of what homes were sold for so we had an idea of the final sale price of properties we had seen ended up being. She knows the value of any home in any neighborhood. She was able to tell the pros and cons of neighborhoods based on our needs that we hadn't even thought about. She was able to see a home for us while we were out of the country and arranged for us to have a private showing and an offer submitted within hours of landing. 

“Her advice during our negotiating was spot on. We closed last week. During the time between P&S and closing, Joan continued to check in with us and kept us updated on what was happening and what was needed on our end. Since closing, Joan has provided numbers to all types of services we need. Lawn care, plumber, electrician, handyman, flooring professional. All were at our house within 2 days. She went above and beyond in countless ways. She is professional in her interactions with other agents, well-respected, thorough, knowledgeable, and an expert in her field. If we ever sell or buy another home, will we not hesitate to call Joan.”

-- Miriam and Mark G., July 2018

“In addition to echoing all the other rave comments, I should mention three things: 1. We consulted Joan in late 2016, a year before we anticipated selling, and her suggestions of what needed updating helped us see the house from a buyer's perspective. 2. Joan has a list of professionals who respond quickly to her calls for help on big or small issues. We needed a plumber, foundation crack fixer, radon tester, real estate attorney, smoke detector installer, etc. and every one made quick and expert work of our tasks. 3. Joan staged a few rooms of our otherwise empty house, giving it a touch of warmth, and enabling buyers to imagine themselves in the home. 

“I know from neighbors that when they saw Joan's name on the open house sign, they stopped in to say hello - people are that fond of her, and you will be too.”

-- Meryl S., December, 2017

“Selling a home is stressful. I am sure most people know that. We chose Joan because of her neighborhood knowledge and professionalism. Her general execution of the entire process was flawless. Joan did her homework, set the right financial and timing expectations and most importantly was able to negotiate when ‘bumps’ in the process occur. I cannot say enough about Joan as she was a true professional throughout the process. If you are selling or buying in the Newton area…choose Joan. You will not be disappointed.”

-- Bill and Heather F., October 2017

“Joan was an excellent resource when it came to marketing and selling our two-family house in Newton Exceeded expectations in customer service, strategy approach. Her character is top notch and she’s smart and very capable of bringing a house to market and executing on the sale while keeping all the issues off your plate. She excelled in taking over the process and clearly describing what we were responsible for taking care of and on what time frame, which was very helpful to keep us on track. We work in real estate, but aren’t fluent with the buying/selling process and she proved to be a very great asset during the process.”

-- Michael I., September 2017

“Joan is the best! Knows the market, high energy person, attentive to details, fun to work with, forthright and honest. From start to finish we were always well-informed, offered suggestions to improve price, like staging, and ways to attract more buyers, on target. I have worked with Joan for about 30 years; first as the owner/director/teacher of her children's preschool, as an interior decorator/designer for our home, and as our real estate broker. She is a winner!”

-- Hope and Bob D., September 2017

“Joan Sullivan helped me to sell my house. From the get go she came across as a seasoned professional who is committed to providing excellent service to her clients. She provided me with the relevant information regarding pricing in my area. She managed the selling process efficiently up to its successful conclusion. This was a stressful experience, and Joan’s expertise helped me to reduce it and get through it.”

-- Sam R., December 2016

"Joan was wonderful to work with! We were first-time home buyers and Joan was a great resource every step of the way. She has great insight into the housing market and the locations we were considering and she ultimately lead us to our dream home. We would definitely work with her again and would highly recommend her to our friends and family!”

-- Heather K. and Dan O., September 2016

"As our seller’s agent, Joan was efficient and thorough.  She priced the residence in line with comparable listings, staged the property, marketed it promptly and developed qualified buyers immediately.  She handled all details including fire and condo certificates, dealt with attorneys at both ends of the transaction, and identified an excellent cleaning crew to prepare the unit for turnover to the new owner.   Joan updated the information flow by communicating all developments by text and email.  Total time elapsed was brisk – from signing on with Joan as listing agent until the property sale closed was exactly one month!  You can’t do much better than that.”

-- Joseph C., August 2016

"We would heartily recommend Joan Sullivan to anyone who is looking for a hard-working, tenacious broker.  She sold us our first home in 1995 and she helped us sell this same home in 2016, after only five days on the market.  On both occasions, we felt like we were in the hands of a superb professional.  Thank you, Joan!”

-- Ella A., June 2016

“We worked with Joan recently (and successfully) as we purchased our very first home. In Joan, we found a trusted and valuable resource, and more importantly, an ally for what can be a scary and confusing process. In our very first meeting, she set the stage that she is on ‘our side,’ which was remarkable because we'd met with several agents previously -- we just felt like we could trust her! Because she has decades of experience, she helped us appropriately expand our search to consider houses we otherwise would have overlooked and make an educated bid. We walked away from the purchase confident, satisfied, and truly elated about this huge step. My family is thrilled to recommend Joan to anyone looking to purchase a home in Newton, and look forward to working with her again in the future.”

-- Kim and Phil K., June 2016

“Joan is lovely to work with!  She is patient, accommodating, and extremely knowledgeable about the area and the market.  She was an excellent advisor and advocate throughout the entire process.  She truly found us the perfect house and we highly recommend her!”

-- Kristin K., December 2015

“We just purchased a home with Joan Sullivan’s help last week.  She took what could have been a stressful situation, as it was an international relocation, and made it a nice experience for our whole family!

“Joan did a lot of the work - so we did not have to! We really appreciated the fact that she knows every nook and cranny of the neighborhoods we visited. It really made us more comfortable knowing that she could tell us everything we needed to know about the area, including schools, supermarkets - and even who lives on the block!

“Joan was also so warm and friendly and yet such a great negotiator.  We feel lucky to have landed in such wonderful hands.

“Thank you Hammond!”

-- Brent and Eleni H., August 2015

“We had a terrific experience working with Joan on the sale of our condominium in Jamaica Plain and the purchase of a new unit, also in Jamaica Plain.  She was clearly very knowledgeable about the local real estate market, and was very attentive to the myriad of details that attend both transactions.  Best of all, we got 10% over market for our unit, allowing us to upgrade many features in our new place.  

“Great job, Joan!”

-- Bob and Elaine G., July 2015

“I’ve both bought and sold a home thru Joan. Both transactions went smoothly and successfully. Joan knows the local market inside and out. She is smart, ethical, and hard-working. 

“Buying and selling can be stressful experiences, but with Joan's cheerful but realistic outlook, she makes the experience almost fun!  No wonder she has been a successful real estate professional for many years!”

-- Maureen R., July 2015

Working with Joan was absolutely fantastic.  She made what can be a stressful and opaque process entirely stress-free and easy to understand.  Even – dare I say -- fun?   Joan is absolutely unflappable, lovely, funny, easy to work with, and completely generous with her time and expertise.   She is so knowledgeable about real estate generally, and the Newton market in particular.   She was always available and accommodating.   We loved working with her and would recommend her to anyone (and already have!) to be a buyer's or seller's agent.”  

-- Debbie G., June 2015

“Joan Sullivan is the ‘go to’ real estate broker for Waban. She sold our house in no time for more money than we originally thought we could get.
“Moreover, throughout the process she was helpful and available. A total professional.”

 -- David G., June 2015

"We cannot say enough about our phenomenal experience with Joan Sullivan.  Not only is she a pro who is spot on with pricing, strategy, negotiating and getting the deal closed, she is warm and the ultimate can-do person.  Joan worked with our oil company to resolve inspection issues, she followed up with city hall for permitting issues, and she even facilitated the sale of our furniture.  Who does that?!  You name it, Joan took care of it. She goes above and beyond what one would ever expect anyone to do, Realtor or not.

“Joan has built relationships with the people who matter, she cares about her clients, and she sold our house in a hot minute!"

-- Jen and Bill Z., September 2014

 

“Joan sold our house in June 2014. Our entire experience was seamless.  She was organized, thoughtful and extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of our transaction. My husband and I always felt that she demonstrated loyalty to us as well. She has a bubbly, warm personality that is an asset to her profession. “

 

-- Jackie H., August 2014
 

"Simply put, Joan was the single difference maker in getting our transaction completed. While Joan represented the seller, she could not have been more accommodating to us as buyers, including helping out with inspections, architects and personally getting the home ready for us to move in. We have significant experience in the real estate business (residential and commercial), and Joan is in a class of her own. We couldn't imagine using anyone else going forward."

 

--Andrew C., August 2014

 

“My wife Stephanie and I used Joan to both buy and sell a wonderful custom new home in Newton.  On the buy side, she was tremendously helpful in evaluating not only a variety of home options but locations in the Newton, Brookline and Needham area and helping us settle on both a fantastic location and dream home.  Additionally, since the home was new, there were some holdover items needing completion from the builders. She drove these personally to completion, taking the items off our plate to deal with.  Due to a relocation, we had to sell only a year later.  

 

“Joan's knowledge of the area and help on negotiating a great value on the buy side led us to be able to turn a very nice profit on the sell side.  We sold the home for over asking within a week of being on the market.  Once again, she handled the process start to finish, including getting the original builder to attend to some minor items in the inspection process, ensuring we were in perfect condition for sale.  If you are looking for no nonsense and a strong advocate on either the buy or sell side, Joan is a great choice.”

 

--Jay and Stephanie S., June 2014

“Joan Sullivan was marketing a Tudor on Valentine Street in Newton in 1997 when my wife Ellen and I met her.  We instantly hit it off and subsequently Joan brokered the purchase and sale of our homes in Brookline, Newton, and Jamaica Plain. It is the most recent sale, of our home in Jamaica Plain last month, that compels me to write to you.  A true professional like Joan gives her client the correct info on pricing and appearance etc. Obviously Joan did just that since our house sold in a couple of weeks for over asking price.  None of that surprised me since we have had excellent track record with Joan in the past.  Here is what I need to share with you.  We ran into a snag at the closing because my tenant's things were not completely removed from the apartment in the house. The sellers' attorney would not allow the closing to proceed until the apartment was completely empty. Only Joan came up with the solution which was we sign and she drive back to the house with me to call the attorney when my tenant and belongings were completely removed.  Joan did just that after actually helping move bags, luggage, etc.

“ By the time we got the job done my closing on our new home in Milton needed to be delayed until the following morning. Rather than try to find a hotel that accepts dogs, Joan insisted we stay with her at her home in Dedham that evening. Talk about going above and beyond the call of duty!  Joan Sulllivan is a tribute to what makes Hammond Real Estate great.”

 -- Michael B., January 2014

“My husband and I recently sold a house in Waban that we had lived in for 47 years.  It was our first ‘selling’ experience and Joan Sullivan was our first choice for Realtor, having known neighbors and fellow church-goers who had been pleased with her services. While the downsizing process was traumatic (you can imagine what ‘stuff’ we had accumulated over that period of time), Joan facilitated the actual sale smoothly, was always available to show the home to individual buyers, hostessed every open house, and kept in constant contact with us both about progress or lack thereof.  She was so helpful with all the details, from right-pricing the property, showcasing its advantages, and even providing prompt access to outside services such as cellar clean-out and termite mitigation when these became issues.   

“We were very impressed with her knowledge of the Newton real estate situation and her high energy level in bringing buyers and sellers together.  We had been aware that the late fall was not considered a particularly good time for selling, but our closing on December 20th was in large part due to Joan’s expertise.  We cannot recommend her highly enough!” 

--Barbara and Jack, December 2013

“With the help of Hammond Residential and in particular Joan Sullivan, I recently purchased a condominium and simultaneously sold my house. I am writing this letter to thank Joan Sullivan for her understanding, patience, and expertise during this process. Her guidance, advice and availability were invaluable and indispensible. Joan listened to my every need and wish for a new living space after having lived in a house for forty years, and when one came along she was right on it and it has met all my expectations.

"The sale of my house went quickly and smoothly and painlessly under her guidance. Moving in general, as I have found out, can be an unnerving experience; however, this was expertly minimized thanks to Joan Sullivan and I can only recommend her with the highest regard and consider her a valued and dear friend. Thank you, Joan!”

-- Allan B., June 2013

“Joan was the perfect real estate agent for us. She took the time to understand what we cared about the most in a house, neighborhood, and our budget. First, she helped us think through what options for towns and neighborhoods would best suit us. One of the towns she suggested, Needham, ended up being the town we finally bought in. In terms of choosing a house, she was thoughtful in explaining not only the pros and cons of different houses, but also the vision for what the house could be. This allowed us as a couple to pick a house that not only satisfied what we wanted today, but also could be setup to suit our vision for what we wanted our house to be 4 or 5 years down the line. Most important, Joan helped us step back from the emotional anxiety caused by the house-buying process so that we could look at things objectively and really understand what trade-offs we were willing to make. In fact, the first house we had an accepted offer on (which we ultimately did not buy) had a couple of what seemed like minor red flags on the inspection report. Joan helped us immediately line up plumbers, electricians, and contractors to properly evaluate these red flags. Thanks to her guidance we were able to make an informed decision and ended up not buying that house, and finding the house we really wanted later on.

“We will continue to recommend Joan to our friends. She works hard, has a great eye, and follows things through to the end.”

-- Edra W., August 2012

“In 1994 I chose Joan to be our Realtor because I had observed her energy, spontaneity, and all-out good nature in the social settings from which I knew her. I did not know then what an extremely hard worker she was nor did I anticipate that she would need to go beyond the call of duty during our house hunting, finding, bidding and settling. She was fantastic. We had complications and Joan flew through them like the experienced and seasoned professional that she is. My husband and I ended up in a perfect home in a timely fashion.

“Years later as a widow I again approached Joan for help in selling the previously mentioned home and in finding a new place that would fit my needs. I have never known a Realtor to work so effectively to sell a home. In a terrible real estate market Joan worked and networked, held open houses and found a buyer. During this time she worked with me to find just the house I was looking for. Thanks to Joan I bought the house I wanted in a charming neighborhood and was delighted with the entire experience.

“I will continue to recommend Joan to friends. She knows the market and knows her buyers and sellers. She makes it work. Thank you, Joan.”

-- Elizabeth M., August 2012

“As it happens, my wife and I have moved 3-4 times in the past 10 years. Joan Sullivan, hands down, is the best real estate agent we have ever had the pleasure to work with. Joan helped us tremendously in finding our new home in Wellesley. She quickly understood our needs as a family. Taking into consideration that we came from out-of-state and were not familiar with the area, she identified an outstanding location for us to narrow the search within Wellesley, and then actively and creatively helped structure, negotiate and close the deal itself. Apart from being a savvy, high-energy professional, Joan proved to be an outstanding individual. She truly helped us start our new life as a family in the Boston area. I will be happy to provide further input upon request.”

-- Rami S., December 2011
 

“In selecting a real estate agent to sell our house in Waban, my husband and I searched for a knowledgeable Realtor who could speak to all the beautiful nuances of Newton, and in particular Waban. We wanted somebody who could convey exactly what our house offered in the area, besides just the rooms in the house and the trees in the yard. When we selected Joan (over other Realtors strongly referred), we got everything we hoped for plus so much more. In selling our home, she knew our house inside and out, the neighborhood, the schools, the streets, and was able to warmly communicate loads of information to our potential buyers. We were so impressed at how much work she dedicated to selling our home. We always knew the sale of our house was as much on Joan’s mind as it was on ours. Without hesitation we recommend Joan as a Realtor.”

-- Shannon S., October 2011

“We first encountered Joan at an Open House. She was terrific about letting us wander around the house, the yard, and especially the pool. Her style as an agent was impressive: she possessed great knowledge about the house, the neighborhood, and all the intimate details a buyer would want to know. We were so impressed with her as an agent, that we asked her to represent us in the sale of our home as well. Again, she was quick to take the lead to get the house staged, photographed, and listed to keep to our quick timeline. Sure enough our house sold to the first buyer who came through. Joan worked magic with juggling the sale and the purchase for us and everything went smoothly with two closings in one day. Keep up the great work, Joan. You're top notch!”

-- Russ W., August 2011

“My husband and I interviewed several brokers and firms when we decided to sell our home. Joan Sullivan and Hammond outshone all others. Not only is Joan a consummate professional, informed, engaged in the process, and hard-working, she is warm, concerned and caring. These personal and business qualities, combined with the best in class marketing leveraged by Hammond Residential provided us tremendous confidence and security and, ultimately, the results for which we were looking.

“We would not hesitate to call upon Joan Sullivan at any time for future needs.”

-- Kathy T., August 2011

“Joan helped us sell our beloved Newton home that we had lived in for 28 years. Throughout the process she was supportive of us, made suggestions and helped us find contractors to prepare the home to maximize its market appeal, was tenacious in finding the right buyer, and non-stoppable in pushing the buyer forward when their bank was dragging its feet. Joan also helped us find our new home. She understood what we wanted and worked hard to find the right place. I cannot recommend Joan strongly enough. She is simply the best. She knows the market and provides an exceptionally high level of customer service.”

-- Margaret H., July 2011

"Joan was a professional from start to finish. She provided useful information on staging our house, gave us a good sense of the housing market, and followed through on her commitments. In particular, during the process of showing our house, Joan provided timely communications from potential buyers and their agents. I would not hesitate to use Joan again."

-- Linda G., May 2010

"I just want to say again how wonderful you were in helping me to sell my home in Waban. Your personal attention and advice to me allowed me to move forward effectively with the repairs and finishing touches that brought in top dollar in a very slow market.

"In retrospect, I now realize that your suggested asking price was correct and inspired. I insisted on putting the house on the market for a much higher price and did not get any movement on the property. As soon as we reduced the price to your original price my house immediately sold! I still can't believe the entire process was completed in a mere month! You are unquestionably one experienced and talented real estate agent and I wish you continued success."

-- Lois M., May 2010

"Joan Sullivan is a terrific real estate agent on many fronts. I've known her for many years through my wife and came to realize that she's packed full of energy and enthusiasm, combined with a wonderful sense of humor. I dislike the term 'hustler,' but must emphasize that Joan is one in her business life and a top broker (if not THE top).

"Joan sold my Newton Highlands house last summer and gave me sound advice about a proposed selling price. As the market continued to sour she suggested I accept a lower selling price (which I reluctantly did) and the house was under agreement in short order. Another piece of advice I found useful was her ideas about 'staging' the house for the best presentation.

"In addition to selling the Newton house, Joan also found a wonderful condominium in Wayland for me.

"With a sale coupled with a purchase, I was more than pleased with Joan's services and her ability to make all transactions smooth and easy for both sides."

-- Paul D., May 2010

"Our family made the perfect choice when we chose Joan Sullivan as the broker to price, market and sell our mother's condominium. Her knowledge of the local real estate market is extensive and accurate and thus she suggested the best asking price. During showings she was sensitive to the needs of the family and up to the final closing we had the utmost confidence in her attention to every detail and her keeping our best interests in mind. I would recommend Joan to anyone seeking a top professional real estate broker."

-- Leslie G., June 2010